Recipes

Red Velvet Cake (eggless) (vegan with the right frosting)

My first (consciously) vegan/eggless bake and it turned out AMAZING. I’ve made this twice so far and feel like baking it again but am lacking the funds currently so I thought I’d write up the recipe 🙂

Ingredients
2 3/4 cups all purpose flour
2 cups granulated sugar
1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 tsp salt
1 3/4 cup any plain non-dairy milk (almond – just not vanilla)
1 cup vegetable oil
3 tbsp vanilla extract
2 tbsp white vinegar
2 tsp baking soda
1/4 cup red food colouring (or beet juice)

Directions
1. Preheat oven to 350°F (175°C)
2. Grease and flour 2 8″ round metal baking pans
3. Large bowl: flour, sugar, cocoa powder, baking soda and salt
4. Add non dairy milk, oil, food colouring and vanilla – stir till just blended
5. Stir in vanilla
6. Immediately pour batter into prepared pans and bake 35-50 minutes

And cream cheese frosting.

Based on: http://thehungrydudes.com/the-best-red-velvet-cake-that-happens-to-be-vegan/

Info from the future (20th April 2016): I make this all the time now; it is the go-to base for all my cakes, go to cake I make whenever I need a cake for personal reasons. I have always foregone the 1/4 cup red food colouring/beet juice, so it’s always really been chocolate cake, but it’s been great, and it’s always gotten great reviews. I made it for a SPiKL event in April 2016:

Screen Shot 2016-04-20 at 08.47.00.png

Rave reviews. I used lactose free cream cheese and announced it a lactose-free, egg-free cake.

Most of the times I make it, when dairy/lactose free isn’t the main concern, while egg free is: so I just use normal milk and normal cream cheese.   

4 thoughts on “Red Velvet Cake (eggless) (vegan with the right frosting)

Leave a thought

