Recipes

banana-berry-peanut butter smoothie

I’ve been making a smoothie every time I go for a run. I have about 3/4 before I go and the last bit after coming back while stretching and cooling down. This is a good way to get fruits into my diet, having fruits first thing in the morning, and getting some energy back after my run.

image5.JPG

I’ve kept it really simple so far: as a base I always had banana, blueberries, 1 tsp honey, half a cup of milk, half a cup of yoghurt, a couple of strawberries, 1 tbsp peanut butter. But I did experiment a little bit by adding things in – the first day I tried it, I had with spinach and avocado instead of peanut butter. Then I tried it with 1 stalk of celery, and then today I added a few dried pumpkin seeds.

image4-2.JPG

I really liked this base, it seemed the most natural to me to start off with, and a good way to see what things like avocado, spinach, pumpkin seeds and celery felt like in smoothies (Days 2-6).

image3-2

Ingredients & Method
– 1 banana
– handful blueberries
– 1 or 3/4 tsp honey
– 1/2 cup yoghurt
– 3ish strawberries
– 1 heaped tsp peanut butter
Optionals: 1/2 avocado, handful spinach, 1 celery, 1 tbsp pumpkin seeds

  1. cut it up
  2. blend it down
  3. pour & consume

IMG_0966

2 thoughts on “banana-berry-peanut butter smoothie

    1. Thank you! With the pumpkin seeds was my favourite combination…If you had it without knowing they were there, I honestly don’t think you’d know they were. They went really well with the sweetness of everything else, and I know they added some good protein and fats 🙂

      Like

Leave a thought

