Recipes

Mushroom Gnocchi

I went to the store to get bread last night, and it happened to be clearance hour, so I picked up two packets of gnocchi, some shallots and some spring onions because they were like 70% reduced. And I had a lot of mushrooms in the fridge (baby chestnut, white button and shiitake) that were edging closer to the expiration dates.

I used store-bought gnocchi, which didn’t have egg in it, but did have milk in it. But this Vegan Gnocchi recipe looks promising for anyone wanting to make it from scratch. The recipe that I looked at for inspiration before heading down to the kitchen also had gnocchi made from scratch using eggs and parmesan.

Untitled2.png

I had forgotten what cutting things like onions felt like because for the past year I just haven’t been bothered and have been using frozen onions in things that “need” onions. Just because the shallots had been on sale (and I love the taste of shallots), I bought them yesterday and cursed through the entire cutting process.

I had been boiling water in my electric kettle while cutting, so once that was ready, I put the gnocchi into a pan with the boiling water, and just needed to wait for the potato balls to float. Then I put a tbsp of butter and vegetable oil and olive oil each into a pan, and when the butter melted I dropped all of the mushroom in there.

image2-2.JPG

While I was waiting for the mushrooms to get a little bit darker and a bit more cooked, I decided to add some spring onions, dried mixed herbs, garlic granules, salt and pepper to the bowl of shallots.

image3-2.JPG

By the time the mushroom and shallot mixture browned up and there was a nice amount of liquid reservoir at the bottom, the gnocchi were ready and drained. So I dropped them into the frying pan with the mushrooms and sauce, and let them soak up the gravy over low heat for about 2 minutes.

Untitled

This was yummy. This was the first time I cooked gnocchi at home, and I’m seriously surprised at how easy this was. It’s always been a favourite of mine at restaurants, but I was slightly worried about making it at home, thinking it would break apart or the flavouring wouldn’t be right or something. Next step will be to actually make gnocchi from scratch! But I’m glad to have learnt another easy and quick recipe!

Mushroom Gnocchi

  • Servings: 3-4
  • Time: 20 mins
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 600g gnocchi
  • 2 shallots
  • 3 cups of mixed mushrooms (I used baby chestnut, white button and shiitake)
  • 4 spring onions
  • 1 tbsp butter, vegetable oil, olive oil each
  • 1 tsp dried mixed Italian herbs
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 1 tsp salt
  • tsp garlic granules
  • handful basil

Directions

  1. Cook and drain gnocchi. (Put gnocchi in boiling water and wait for them to float, then drain)
  2. Wash and cut mixed mushrooms up.
  3. In a large saucepan, heat together 1 tbsp butter, vegetable oil and olive oil each. When the butter has melted add the mushroom.
  4. Prepare shallots and spring onions, when the mushrooms have browned a bit, put them into the pan with them. Along with 1 tsp dried mixed Italian herbs, 1 tsp black pepper and 1 tsp salt.
  5. Once the mushrooms and shallots are fully cooked, put the gnocchi into the pan over low heat and let the gnocchi be covered in the mushroom, shallots and sauce. (Good time to add basil or any other herbs).
  6. Enjoy!

Leave a thought

