Recipes

Veggie Bolognese (Lentil Ragu)

I mentioned before that Jamie Oliver and I became best friends because my youngest sister introduced us. So when she came to visit me a few months ago, I took her to a Jamie’s Italian Restaurant. I had the Veggie Tagliatelle Bolognese described as a ragù of porcini mushrooms, tomatoes, pulses, herbs & garlic with Bella Lodi & herby breadcrumbs (which would be vegan without the Bella Lodi). I just had to recreate this because it was so tasty and healthy and I felt like it could become an easy meal.

I’ve made this twice – once with more store bought things than another, so I’ll mention both ways:

Veggie Bolognese (Lentil Ragu)

  • Servings: 2
  • Time: ? mins
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 onions – finely chopped
  • 1 carrots – finely chopped
  • 1 garlic cloves
  • 1 cup dried red lentils
  • 1 cup rehydrated dried mixed mushrooms or 1 and a half cups of fresh mixed mushrooms (porcini, chestnut, white button, shiitake)
  • 1 400g can chopped tomatoes
  • 1 tbsp tomato puree
  • 1 tsp each dried oregano and thyme
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1 cup vegetable stock cube
  • 250g spaghetti or quinoa
  • the first time I made this I had half a jar of a tomato + herb with cheese pasta sauce in the fridge, so I put that in instead of the chopped tomatoes can and the tomato puree

Directions

  1. heat the oil in a large saucepan + add onions, carrots, garlic, mushrooms and cook gently for 15-20 min until everything is softened stir in lentils, chopped tomatoes, tomato puree, herbs and stock, and bring to a simmer
  2. cook for 40-50 mins until lentils are tender and saucy, splash in water if needed (I did this in a pressure cooker so it took 20 mins – 1 cup of lentils needs at least 3 cups of liquid so I added another cup of water before closing the pressure cooker)
  3. Keep on low heat while cooking spaghetti
  4. cool sauce and chill for unto 3 days or freeze for up to 3 months

One thought on “Veggie Bolognese (Lentil Ragu)

Leave a thought

