fitness

Aug 14 – Running Update

I have been going running, but not really posting about it. In fact, I just came back from a run (with my Pact app, my Runkeeper app and my Pokemon Go app – poor phone battery).

My last posted run on June 7th wasn’t a very fun one because I came home with the worst cholinergic urticaria reaction that I have had. The few before that also have complains about bad reactions.. I think it also had to do with the pollen that was around. It was just too much for my body to handle. I went travelling right after that which included TOONS of walking, I was averaging 15,000 or more steps per day so I didn’t worry too much about running.

When I got to India I hopped on the treadmill and started running regularly again after a one month hiatus. Under the watchful eyes of my mother and younger sister we decided I should only run (incl. warm up and cool down) for 30 minutes, even if the app tells me to go on. The post-run wheezing has been under control too since I started taking two puffs before going for the run, and since I only go running 3 times a week, and don’t use it at any other times, my asthma is considered “controlled asthma” and I can stick to my antihistamine inhaler and don’t have to have any steroid inhalers.

Since coming back from my travels I have been running, sticking to Week 3 and 4 of the C25k app and getting home within 30 minutes. I do believe it has helped push up my tolerance of my sweat, so when I was travelling in those hot countries I had a bad reaction only once – in Istanbul my face swelled up like a peanut allergy (I’m really thankful that it did and near the beginning of the trip because it made my parents to take this thing I’ve been having seriously – they had only really seen pictures of the really bad days until that point) – even in all the hot weather and all the walking and sweating places I went to. (I did opt out of going to the hammams and crazy places like that though 🙂

But yeah, I feel pretty good – everyone’s always asking if the things I’m taking (also a lot of doctor visits this summer with blood tests and home remedies and homeopathies – all approved by my other doctors, don’t worry) is making a change – I don’t think it is.

But it’s also been good because it’s been exactly a year now since my first onset. It’s definitely a lot worst than it was a year ago, but a lot better handled than it was 10 months ago (when the reactions started getting really bad). I know it’s not seasonal now (yay I can apply for a disability badge – I don’t have a car…but according to my doctor it is perfectly reasonable that I do because if I park too far, I have to take antihistamines, if I take too many antihistamines, I can get drowsy, if I get drowsy because of my medication, I have to not drive…but if I want to drive…I can get a blue badge – silver linings……)

So yeah, I’ll keep running, and if I ever get to 5K, I’ll let you know. And when I try something cool/go running in a new place, I might also post something 🙂

 

Leave a thought

