fitness

Sunrise Yoga and Skin Care

I’ve moved away from York and now I’m in London! I’ve had one month of MSc classes, and next week I have my first assessments in two (out of three) of my modules! I didn’t get to do (or re-do) things in York that I wanted to write about, but I have plans for them and I’ll definitely do them soon 🙂

This is the fourth year in a row that I haven’t gotten Freshers’ flu when everyone else does…I get it around this time, when everyone’s recovered. So feeling quite under the weather so decided not go outside today to run, but stay in and do yoga.

SeanVigueFitness’ Sunrise Yoga is my favourite. It’s a good stretch and really “wakes up each of your cells one by one” “with oxygen”

My Chol. Urt. is better than before. I’m not taking antihistamines for day-to-day stuff, even though I am walking a lot more in London than I was in York. I think it’s partially to do with the lack of pollen (in comparison), and also the fact that I’m fitter and I’ve pushed up the threshold with the running.

I still have to use antihistamine and inhaler before run, otherwise it gets really bad, and sustained long periods of walking, but I can wash dishes and do the laundry and run down to the store or go to class without taking a ton of antihistamines and feeling totally dead after!

This is the most skin-care products I have ever owned:
image1-5.JPG

Cetaphil’s Gentle Skin Cleanser is one that I’ve been using on and off since I was 14 and it’s always suited my skin better than others.

La Roche-Posay’s Lipikar lotion has been my best friend and life saver since the age of 2 and a half. Back then we used to live in Geneva, and there was this French doctor who told us (my parents) to use it on me. (This was after tons of allergy testing had been done both in the UK and Switzerland because of my pretty serious eczema all over my body).

Ever since then we have always had a constant supply of it coming to our house. My dad’s colleagues remember picking it up for me from different countries in Europe and sending it to Kenya or Bangladesh, wherever we were living (a conversation we had this summer when one of them saw the beginning of my above collection). My sisters also used it growing up because it was the best relief for our eczema.

My eczema more or less cleared up when I reached puberty and we lived in hot and humid Bangladesh for 4 years. It started coming back again when we moved to New York which is when I started using Cetaphil, but I had more or less stopped using Lipikar.

After last year when my eczema came back worst than ever, as a result of my scratching because of Chol Urt. And in places like my face – lips and eyes, and nipples, and parts of my arms and back which weren’t affected when I was a kid. I decided to go back to what I knew worked: La Roche-Posay.

They have everything, starting from make-up to make-up remover. I started off simple, got the body Lipikar Syndet (Cream Body-Wash), and Lipikar Baume (Balm); AP+ is the stronger one of two formulations for both of them. And I also got the Nutritic lip balm and the Hydreane BB cream.

Then when I bought my Cetaphil Gentle Skin Cleanser, I also bought Toleriane as a face cream, and the Lipikar Xerand hand repair cream to keep in my bag, like an adult.

Mum always puts hair oil on when she’s around me, and when I’m in India and Bangladesh it’s a regular, if not daily occurrence to make sure there is oil on my head and I am sufficiently moisturised, and I always come back from mum-visits and South Asia-visits very …not dry, so I’ve added that to my regular routine.

The nights before my runs I put oil in my hair and sleep so that there’s a good gestation period for the oil to get through my scalp and possibly less itching because of dryness that comes from the sweat drying after the run.

Leave a thought

