Recipes

Quorma

I thought I would make Korma. Not the ones from the jars in the supermarket, I wanted to try to make it myself. I have a Bengali cookbook written by Siddika Kabir…it’s a cookbook that I’ve seen in every member of my family’s house, and I had asked for my mum to get me for yeeears because she turns to it at least once whenever I’m around her for some reason or another, but I hadn’t actually used it until today!

One reason I opened up the cookbook was to see what I could do with Rose Water. I bought it because I need it for a cake that I’m going to bake next week. And the Siddika Kabir book has this amazing page where it says what a spice or fruit or vegetable is in Bengali, what the English translation is and the recipes where they would be used! So I found out Rose Water can be used in Korma that way.

Fun fact, I even met her and ate her cooking when we were living in Nairobi. I just remember that her grandson’s name was Surjo (which means sun) and he was around my age (I was 7/8ish years old) and went to school there.

img_0869

I prefer Quorn Chicken Fillets to Quorn Chicken Style Pieces because the texture is great and it’s really quite juicy. Also, the korma I’m used to usually uses actual pieces of chicken instead of cut up pieces, so this is more reminiscent of that, for me.

I translated the recipe into English for myself, because even though I can read Bengali, I can’t read it as quickly as I can just glance at English and know what it says.

I had to divide the recipe by a third because the original recipe calls for 1.5 kg chicken, and the Quorn chicken fillet packet has 312 g.

1.5kg Chicken -> 312g Quorn chicken fillets
1 cup oil -> 1/3 cup oil
1.5 cup onion (kuchi =) cut up into tiny pieces -> half cup onion
6 cardamom -> 2 cardamom
6 pieces cinnamon -> 2 pieces cinnamon
2 tbsp ginger paste -> 3/4 tbsp ginger paste
2 tsp garlic paste -> 3/4 tsp garlic paste
2 tsp ground coriander -> I ran out 
1/2 tsp saffron -> tiny pinch of saffron
1 cup plain yoghurt -> 1/3 cup yoghurt
1/8 cup ghee or oil -> didn’t have any ghee, so just a splash of oil more than the 1/3 cup above
2 tbsp rose water -> 1 tsp rose water
1 tbsp lemon juice -> squeeze of tiny piece of lemon
2 tsp sugar -> less than 1 tsp sugar
salt to taste

img_0873

1. Heat oil, add cardamom, cinnamon and onion, fry.
2. When onion is lightly browned, add chicken and salt and fly.
3. When water starts coming out from chicken, add ginger, garlic, ground coriander and keep stirring (koshao).
4. When the water starts drying up, and the masala and chicken get more fried, put a tiny bit of water in the yoghurt, stir well and mix in.
5. Put saffron in, mix, cover.
6. Put on medium heat and let boil for a bit.
7. Add rosewater, lemon juice, sugar – stir (koshao).
8. Taste and add lemon juice or sugar.
9. Cover
10. When oil goes up, bring down – I think this means when the oil separates on the top, bring off heat. 

img_0876

It turned out more like a Rezala than a Korma – the taste is there, but the gravy isn’t. This is probably because I actually ground up my own ginger and garlic with my mortar and pestle instead of using paste, and maybe the liquid that got released from the frozen Quorn chicken fillet was different than what would’ve been released from a piece of chicken. Also, possibly my frying pan wasn’t deep enough or the thorough stirring (koshano in Bangla). Maybe more yoghurt or add milk?I’ve studied the Banglar Rannaghor Dimer (egg) Korma recipe video, as the ingredients are basically the same to see what to do for next time.

I’ve studied the Banglar Rannaghor Dimer (egg) Korma recipe video, as the ingredients are basically the same to see what to do for next time.

Leave a thought

