Recipes

Chickpea & Tomato Stew; Aquafaba Meringue Cookies; White Chocolate Tea Bread

I made Madhur Jaffrey’s Chickpea & Tomato Stew, and used the leftover “Aquafaba” to try making vegan meringue cookies at the same time. The next day I made Jack Monroe’s White Chocolate Tea Bread. Loved all three.

In the past month, I’ve used my own blog as a recipe resource more than once. I made daal, I believe, for the first time after moving to London and needed to consult for the right ingredients and proportions. And I made risotto yesterday, which I also needed to consult my own blog for. So I want to put these in here too…just in case.

Chickpea & Tomato Stew

Sorry no picture this time
– 6 medium-sized tomatoes
– 4 fl oz/1 dl olive oil
– 2 medium-sized onions, peeled and chopped
– 4 cloves garlic, peeled and finely chopped
12-13 oz/340-370g boiled, drained chickpeas or drained tinned chickpeas
– 4 tbs very finely chopped fresh parsley (I used coriander)
– 1/2 tsp dried thyme
– 1 tsp salt, or to taste
Drop the tomatoes into boiling water for 15 seconds. Remove with a slotted spoon and peel. Chop the tomatoes finely.
Heat the oil in a 7-8in/18-20-cm-wide pan over a medium flame. Put in the onions and garlic. Stir and fry for 3 to 4 minutes or until onions are soft. Put in the tomatoes. Stir and cook them for 3 to 4 minutes or until they are soft and paste-like. Add the chick peas, parsley, thyme, salt, and 8 fl oz/quarter l water. Bring to the boil. Cover, lower heat and simmer gently for 10 to 15 minutes.

Aquafaba Meringue Cookies

I used the first recipe that came up on google – It Doesn’t Taste Like Chicken‘s
– the liquid from 1 can of unsalted chickpeas (in water)
– 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
– 1/4 teaspoon cream of tartar
– 3/4 cup white sugar
Beat for about 10 minutes until stiff peaks form when you remove electric whisk out of the bowl (I don’t think I reached stiff peaks).

I put one batch in the oven and beat a bit more.

img_1071

The ones on the left is the first batch, a little underbeaten, and I think the one on the right was better. Though my friend really liked the one of the left and said it reminded her of a German biscuit she couldn’t remember the name of. I think a little more beating would make the intended result.

img_1069

Top (Second batch); Bottom (First batch – underbeaten)

Still a real big hit. My flatmate and her friend and boyfriend had it before I told them that it was totally vegan, and they were so amazed!

White Chocolate Tea Bread

img_1124.jpg

I love Jack’s recipes because they don’t take too many ingredients and are usually really easy to make. Though this took a lot of time (15 minutes to put together and knead, then 20 + 30 for proving the dough, 40 mins to bake, and then cooling time), it was actually really easy to put together. Also, I really like the fact that apart from the white chocolate, I had all the other ingredients at home. I’m really happy that I have two (dessert) recipes for which I always have things at home (this is the other one).

img_1133

My friend said she really liked it because it’s sweet while not being too sweet. We’re looking forward to having more for breakfast tomorrow morning.

Leave a thought

