Travel

New Orleans (USA), Fall 2023

United States -> Louisiana + Mississippi

Same friends’ same wedding celebration, but the US-home edition, in Ocean Springs, Mississippi, only a couple hours’ drive from New Orleans. 

I flew in from NY. Took the shuttle to the rental car place. The shuttle driver was so friendly and helpful and cheerful throughout the drive, giving all of these tips and recommendations completely unsolicited – it was a real example of “above and beyond”. Loved the friendliness of NOLA people! Hadn’t been to Trader Joe’s yet this USA trip, so that was my first stop. I think this was my first time in a TJ outside the city, and the fact that it was so spacious kinda threw me. I bought my favourite snacks and then drove over to Ocean Springs. I ensured I took the Lake Pontchartrain Causeway route at least one way.

It was an unexpectedly rewarding evening to be out and about in Ocean Springs. The most natural description that came to me naturally is that: Halloween is celebrated like Christmas is celebrated in Kolkata! 

The next day after brunch, drove over to New Orleans. The first night there I spent solo. My main aim was to eat as many different types of foods.

I first drove over to the Bywater area. I knew that Bacchanal wine bar was there, but I decided to instead do a little drive around the area, see the Rusty Rainbow Bridge and Mississippi River from that park, and the Marigny Opera House.

Then I parked in the French Quarter and ate at Coop’s Place. I had the Coop’s Taste Plate (a cup of Seafood Gumbo to start. Plate includes Cajun Fried Chicken, Shrimp Creole, Red beans & Rice, Rabbit & Sausage Jambalaya).

I got ID’d so much this trip, it was very surreal for me. This is a drink/party region, so I was kind of surprised cuz it reminded me of Utah‘s intensity of ID-ing. 

The next morning before returning the car I went to Ruby Slipper Café. Because this is a chain I went to the one closest to the airport. I had The Trifecta: “Taste of Ruby” featuring the signature Benedicts: Eggs Cochon, Chicken St. Charles and Bayou Shrimp. 

Then I returned the car, took the shuttle to departures where my friends were dropping off some family members and we went back to our hotel together after having PoBoys at Melba’s on Tulane Avenue.

After a little rest, we went to Sazerac House

Then we walked around French Quarter. 

I had my first Beignet at Café Du Monde (and brought back the beignet mix with me). 

We went over to the Garden District. 

Had some drinks at Commander’s Palace. (Reservation is a must and men must wear collared shirt for dinner, but they are very helpful and suggested for my friend to keep his jacket on).

Then we came back home and relaxed because we were all quite tired! 

The next morning we had breakfast at Mother’s Restaurant:

Then I went to the airport and had a last bit of Crawfish étouffée before flying back to London.

Leave a thought