Travel

Chichén Itzá (Mexico) – October 2022

Rented a car for a day to drive from the Cancún Zona Hotelera to Chichén Itzá.

I had a refundable booking online which I cancelled after checking that the deal from the hotel was actually better. It was a new and interesting experience for me, to be able to just sign the papers at the concierge and just be able to leave the key with the valet to return.

We drove on the 180D which is a tolled highway (about 400 pesos or US$21) on the way to Chichén Itzá. There were practically no other cars, so I wasn’t able to gauge for some time just how much above the speed limit the socially acceptable speed to drive was. The few cars that passed me were going triple my speed!

On the way back I missed the turn onto the highway and took the local roads, which really were very good roads. It reminded me of taking the local mountain roads through towns/villages in France!

As we approached Chichén Itzá we were ushered into a visitor’s centre where we bought tickets and were given an opportunity to take photos and also snacks to eat!

We had intended to take take ATVs to some nearby cenotes (which was the ticket we got) but we ended up spending more time in the Chichén Itzá complex and had to keep that for next time.

Leave a thought